April 9, 2020

Search MarkhamToday icon_20x20_search.jpg
icon_20x20_facebook.jpg icon_20x20_twitter.jpgicon_20x20_instagram.jpg icon_20x20_email.jpg


Markham Votes - Are you ready to vote?

Posted by MarkhamToday // September 2, 2018 // in News // 0 Comments

Markham residents will be casting their ballots online or in line for the 2018 Markham Municipal Election during a ten-day voting period from October 12 to 22. Markham's City Clerk/Returning Officer Kimberley Kitteringham has released the names of the 111 certified candidates for the upcoming municipal election after the registration deadline closed on Friday, July 27 at 2 PM. This is the most candidates the City of Markham has received during a municipal election since it started online voting in 2003. 

The City of Markham is a leader in digital democracy and multi-channel voting, providing residents with convenient, accessible and barrier-free voting for the last four municipal elections. "We've provided voters with an additional 76 hours to vote during Voting Days this election, which starts October 12 at 10 AM, and ends October 22 at 8 PM," said Markham's City Clerk/Returning Officer Kimberley Kitteringham. "In addition, we've extended online voting to Final Voting Day (October 22) based on previous post-election voter surveys, and to increase convenience and accessibility." 

Markham voters will be able to vote online anytime, anywhere using a mobile device or computer during Voting Days. For those who need help casting their ballot, Voter Assistance Centres are located across the city to all eligible voters. Special Voting Locations will also be available at select locations for increased convenience for seniors.

Not only is online voting easy and convenient, it also supports Markham's accessibility objectives, vision for digital leadership and is greener than voting in person.

In order to vote in the upcoming election, you must be on the Municipal Voters’ List. Check to make sure you are on the list at  markhamvotes.ca


Steven Chen
Shan Hua Lu
Abdul Rahman Malik
Frank Scarpitti
Jawed Syed

Regional Councillor
Nirmala Armstrong
Don Hamilton
Jack Heath
Niran Jeyanesan
Jim Jones
Ray Lai
Jeffrey Lee
Jeff Leung
Joe Li
Aaron Madar
Tammy Mok
Peter Pavlovic

Councillor - Ward 1
Caryn Bergmann
Keith Irish
Jasmine Kang
Ricardo Mashregi
Hilary Neubauer
Barry Nelson
Howard Shore
Peter Wong

Councillor - Ward 2
Tammy Armes
Tom Brindley
Alan Ho
Charles Jiang
Larry Lau
Bola Otaraki

Councillor - Ward 3
Ed Law
Soraya Mangal
Reid McAlpine
Shanta Sundarason
Jennifer Carrie Wan

Councillor - Ward 4
Ivy Lee
Karen Rea
Shaarmina A. Rodrigo
Viradhi Sansanwal

Councillor - Ward 5
Scott Au
Ashok Bangia
Tommy Chan
Compass Chung
Andrew Keyes
Marlene Mogado
Rajeev Narang
Sean O'Leary
Mo Shakir
Sri Sivasubramaniam
Jeremiah Vijeyaratnam
Fred K. Wong
Grace Woo

Councillor - Ward 6
Victor Chan
Amanda Yeung Collucci
Arif Mahmood
Gin Siow
Shawn Wang

Councillor - Ward 7
Killi Chelliah
Sundy Huang
Johnson Irimpan
Kethika Logan Kanapathi
Mohammed Rahman
Sothy Sella
Elaguppillai (Mike) Srinathan
Khalid Usman
Malar Varatharaja

Councillor - Ward 8
Alex Chiu
Benson Lau
Isa Lee
Joseph (Mohan) Remisiar
Howard Shen

York Region District School Board Trustee
Area 1 - Markham Ward 1 & Vaughan Ward 5
Sahar Adaskar
Brenndon Goodman
Aviva Polonsky
David Sherman
Todd Silverman
Simon Strelchik

York Region District School Board Trustee
Area 1 - Wards 2, 3 & 6
Kevin Chan
Edward Choi
Catherine Leung
Jerrica Lin
AJ Luo
Ron Lynn
Lisa Ren
Ada Yeung

York Region District School Board Trustee
Area 3 - Wards 4 & 5
George M. George
Michael Kim
Rukshan Para
Amit Sharda
Allan Tam

York Region District School Board Trustee
Area 4 - Wards 7 & 8
Sonia Babra
Ali Chatha
Sabbir Chawala
Jenny Chen
Gagan Garcha
Charanjeet Singh Lamba
Juanita Nathan
Kavitha Senthil
Taha Shaikh

York Catholic District School Board Trustee
Area 1 - Wards 1, 2, 3, & 6
Carol Cotton
Nader Deif

York Catholic District School Board Trustee
Area 2 - Wards 4, 5, 7 & 8
Patrice Chisholm
Sam Cuda
James Ecker
Albert Ko
Ben Smith

Conseil scolaire Viamonda Trustee
François Guérin
Karine Ricard

Conseil scolaire catholique MonAvenir Trustee
Kathleen Beal
Maxime Papillon

For a complete list of certified candidates for the Regional Chair position, visit york.ca

For more information on the 2018 Markham Municipal Election, and to learn more about the certifed candidates, visit  markhamvotes.ca.

About the Author

MarkhamToday.ca Team


Leave a Reply

(Your email will not be publicly displayed.)

Captcha Code

Click the image to see another captcha.